• HIMA English Blog

  • HIMA Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

“We shall obtain justice.”

Armenian MP Khachatur Sukiasian issued the following statement today:

Dear compatriots

As you know on March 4, 2008 the National Assembly met the motion of the Prosecutor General and agreed to my arrest under Article 225 (mass disorders accompanied by assassination) and Article 300 (usurpation of state power).

But thanks to some influential structures, in particular to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the authorities had to decriminalize the aforesaid norms which previously enabled them to chase a person for his political stance. Later the authorities declared an amnesty and released my colleagues.

Under the amnesty bill people under search will be amnestied if they turn themselves in by July 31, 2009.

I don’t fear surrender as I have committed no crime.

By reviewing the charged instituted against my friends and me and declaring an amnesty, the authorities reconfirmed that we had been under persecution.

Furthermore, when reviewing the charges brought against me the Prosecutor General was to receive Parliament’s consent according to Article 66 of the Constitution. The consent was necessary in the future, during our groundless arrest. Thus, criminal prosecution was filed against me without depriving me of deputy’s immunity. It means today I can walk freely in my city with no policeman trying to stop me. The National Assembly must not let illegal steps against my personality.

The authorities supposedly ignored PACE Resolution 1677and now long for my detention. I am not a bit concerned over this. I am determined to struggle till the end for the restoration of our people’s rights and freedoms and I am convinced that we shall obtain justice.”

Translation from A1+

Leave a Reply

