Tigran Arakelyan stops hunger strike

Member of the youth wing of the Armenian National Congress (HAK), Tigran Arkelian, taken under custody since July 5, issued a statement.

“I was illegally detained on July 5 on alleged charges of hooliganism. In reality, I was distributing flyers informing about a July 2 opposition rally sanctioned by the Yerevan City Hall.

Just at that moment we were attacked by a group of bandits in plainclothes.

On July 6, I went on a hunger sign in protest of my illegal detention. Later in the day, my friends Karen Karapetian, Narek Aivazian, Sargis Gevorgian, Sargis Khachatrian, Arakel Semirjian, Arayik Mirzoyan and Gor Sargsian joined the hunger strike with a demand to release me.

Taking into consideration the fact that I was detained for two months and being concerned about my friends’ health condition I stop the hunger strike and urge my friends follow my example.

Our struggle is incontestable and our victory inevitable.

We shall win,” runs the statement.

Leave a Reply

